Caravan Health today announced the winners of this year’s Population Health Pioneer Awards, which are given annually to Caravan Health ACOs and partners for their achievements in improving patient care.  
This year’s winners provided the highest quality health care to their communities and demonstrated a commitment to excellence in their work. Overall, Caravan’s ACOs had another outstanding year, reaching $58 million in total savings in 2018. These impressive financial results came alongside high-quality patient care, with patients receiving enhanced preventive services and care coordination, reflected in MIPS quality scores averaging above 99 percent.  
Caravan Health selected these winners from a strong pool of nominees with compelling testimonials about their skill and dedication. The nomination for All-Star ACO Champion Brenda Ward illustrates the caliber of these nominees, reading in part, “Brenda has taken the ACO challenge head on. From the beginning, she pushed forward tirelessly, spending more time than a 9-5 job.  She is constantly working, even when not in the office, to ensure the success of the ACO.”   
“Caravan Health ACOs and partners had another exceptional year, showing that care transformation is within reach with hard work and a strong team,” said Tim Gronniger, Caravan Health CEO. “All of us at Caravan Health extend our congratulations and look forward to celebrating in person at our Symposium in December.” 
The award winners will be formally honored at the fourth annual Caravan Health Accountable Care Symposium in Scottsdale, Arizona on December 11 and 12, 2019. Register to join two days of networking and learning from the leaders in population health and value-based care.  

Accountable Care Organizations Award Winners – Group 

The ACO group award winners recognize communities who have distinguished themselves in the area of care delivery.  
Community of the Year – Sullivan County Community Hospital 
For transforming care delivery, promoting primary care initiatives, and supporting the team with training. 
Commitment to Preventive Care– Fall Creek Internal Medicine 
For leading a robust annual wellness visit program.  
Leadership in Care Coordination – Covington County Hospital 
For commitment to supporting and treating patients with multiple chronic conditions.  
Improvement in Care Delivery – Glacial Ridge Hospital District 
For reducing over-utilization of emergency department services.  
Excellence in Consistency of Care Delivery -- McFarland Clinic 
For attention and accuracy in identifying and coding patient conditions. 

Accountable Care Organizations Award Winners - Individual    

The individual awards recognize those health care professionals who serve as models of high-quality care delivery.  
All Star ACO Champion - Brenda Ward, Minidoka Memorial Hospital 
For overall ACO leadership in advancing the cause of improving quality and reducing cost.  

Most Valuable Care Coordinators - Shelle Berg, First Care Health System and Nicole Tabert, Samaritan Hospital 
For excellence in addressing patient needs and tangibly improving their quality of life. 
Outstanding Physician Leadership - Dr. James Morrison, Huntsville Hospital, Hampton Cove and Dr. Kelli Christensen, Portneuf Quality Alliance 
For going above and beyond to lead care teams, improve patient lives, and serve as models of successful care transformation.  
Practice Manager Leader - Brooke Eaves, Choctaw Regional Medical Center 
For exceptional, results-driven management of an ACO practice. 

Consultative Client Award Winners – Individual 

Caravan Health’s consultative award winners recognize high-performing clients from the company’s population health management consulting branch. 
Best Community Collaboration - Rachel Walker, Memorial Hospital at Gulfport 
For excellence in community engagement for better health care. 
Outstanding Physician Leadership - Dr. Sean Kerby, Memorial Hospital at Gulfport 
For going above and beyond to lead care teams, improve patient lives, and serve as models of successful care transformation.  
Most Valuable Partnership Manager - Kellie Proctor, St. Dominic Jackson Memorial Hospital 
For program leadership and advancing the cause of improving quality and reducing cost.  
Comprehensive Primary Care+ Award Winners 
Most Valuable Care Coordinator – Allison Eversman, Mercer Health  
For excellence in addressing patient needs and tangibly improving their quality of life. 
Practice Manager Leader - Craig Myers, Family Medical Center of the Bitterroot  
For exceptional, results-driven management of a CPC+ practice. 
Outstanding Physician Leadership - Dr. Thomas Burkert, Thomas S. Burkert, MD 
For going above and beyond to lead care teams, improve patient lives, and serve as models of successful care transformation.  

Recent Resources

CMS Actions in Response to the COVID-19 Public Health Emergency

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services just issued a lengthy set of policy changes to address the growing COVID-19 public health emergency (PHE). These changes will help hospitals and health providers to respond to the crisis more quickly and safely, including many more options for telehealth in Medicare.

ACO, Policy, Webinars & Events, Quality, Value-Based Care, COVID-19

Stop Standing Still: How to Get Started in a High-Performing Caravan Health ACO

Tuesday, September 24 at 9:00am PT / 12:00pm ET

ACO, Webinars & Events

10 Reasons ACOs Can Fail

Just published in Becker’s Hospital Review – Caravan Health Senior Vice President Tim Gronniger discusses ten reasons Accountable Care Organizations can fail.

ACO, Blogs & News, Value-Based Care


Learn the latest in value-based care - check out our resources page

ACO insights delivered right to you

Thank you

Sign up for our newsletter of data-driven news and stories from the latest in ACOs, value-based care, and population health.

  • Real-time insight into alternative payment model trends
  • Strategies and practices that drive results
  • Leadership lessons from health care and beyond
  • Perspectives on the changing health care landscape

By sharing your email you agree to our Privacy Policy

newsletter signup