Every year, Caravan Health, part of Signify Health, recognizes population health champions for their exemplary efforts in delivering value-based care to their patients. These awards are presented to Caravan Health’s ACO Partners who have best served their patients, community, and the healthcare industry through their leadership, dedication, and innovation.  

This year, the award recipients are particularly notable as they have not only met and/or exceeded the criterion for the award, but they have also done so while working through unprecedented pandemic conditions.  

“Our Caravan Health Pioneer Award winners represent the best of the best from ACOs. They drive value for their entire population and excel in caring for the sickest patients,” commented Nicole Banister, Sr. Vice President, Practice Transformation. “Our awardees represent organizations across the country, supporting valued-based care in community health systems of all sizes.  I applaud their work.” 

The Community Level Award recognizes two Caravan ACO Partner communities that have adopted innovative programs to serve high-risk populations, utilized Caravan Coach and other technology to improve the quality of care, and demonstrated success by using supplemental data on at least one core program. In 2022, Fisher-Titus Medical Center and Logan Health have been recognized for not only meeting the criteria but exceeding the expectations. Logan Health joined the Caravan Health Collaborative Care ACO in 2021 and Fisher-Titus has been with Caravan since 2016.  

Additionally, the Innovation in Prevention and Wellness Community Level Award recognizes the organization that has expanded preventative care and modeled new approaches to capturing key quality measures. This year, Yakima Valley Farm Workers Clinic has received this award.  

There are numerous awards in the Individual Level category. Chastity Dolbec from Coal Country Community Health Center and Krystyna Sienkiewicz from Inspira Health are both recipients of the ACO Champion of the Year award. This award recognizes individuals for their overall ACO leadership, improving quality of care and reducing costs. “Although we always put our ACO models at the forefront of what we do, it has been one of the most challenging years. We have such an amazing team as well as our Medical Neighborhood team members and that collaboration always makes challenging years a bit better,” commented Ms. Dolbec. 

Two physicians have received the Physician Leader of the Year award which recognizes the leaders who have gone above and beyond to lead care teams, improve patient’s lives, and serve as models for successful care transformation. Dr. Alex Courville from Allen Health and Dr. Verlin Janzen from the Hutchinson Clinic are this year’s recipients.  

The Population Health Nurse of the Year is awarded to the nurse who excels in addressing patient needs and improves their team’s ability to contribute to accountable care success. This year, Stacy Epling from Bitterroot Health and Lynn Nelson from Knox Community Hospital have received this award. “Thank you to Caravan Health for awarding me the 2022 Population Health Pioneer Award winner for Population Health Nurse of the Year. It is truly an honor, and I am humbled by the nomination,” shared Lynn Nelson. 

The 340B MVP award is a new award based on the game-changing potential of this drug discount program. This award goes to the person who collaborates with Caravan Health to improve care coordination, uses Caravan Coach referral resources, and manages pharmacy opportunities in the 340B program. Winona Health has experienced great success with 340B and Jill Ender has received this award for her pivotal role.  

Another new award this year is the ACO Innovator of the Year. This recognizes the person who exemplifies leadership and innovation within their ACO, is a catalyst for change and transition to value-based care and serves as an example for best practice methodologies. Dale Aggen from Tampa General Hospital has received this inaugural award. Dale is a seasoned Managed Healthcare Executive who has worked on the provider and payer side. He specializes in complex negotiations, healthcare operations, and ACO development including value-based risk reimbursement and management.  

The winners will receive their awards at the Accountable Care Symposium in San Diego, May 25-26. 

Recent Resources

CMS Actions in Response to the COVID-19 Public Health Emergency

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services just issued a lengthy set of policy changes to address the growing COVID-19 public health emergency (PHE). These changes will help hospitals and health providers to respond to the crisis more quickly and safely, including many more options for telehealth in Medicare.

ACO, Policy, Webinars & Events, Quality, Value-Based Care, COVID-19

Stop Standing Still: How to Get Started in a High-Performing Caravan Health ACO

Tuesday, September 24 at 9:00am PT / 12:00pm ET

ACO, Webinars & Events

10 Reasons ACOs Can Fail

Just published in Becker’s Hospital Review – Caravan Health Senior Vice President Tim Gronniger discusses ten reasons Accountable Care Organizations can fail.

ACO, Blogs & News, Value-Based Care


NEWS: Signify Health Completes Acquisition of Caravan Health

ACO insights delivered right to you

Thank you

Sign up for our newsletter of data-driven news and stories from the latest in ACOs, value-based care, and population health.

  • Real-time insight into alternative payment model trends
  • Strategies and practices that drive results
  • Leadership lessons from health care and beyond
  • Perspectives on the changing health care landscape

By sharing your email you agree to our Privacy Policy

newsletter signup