Community Hospital ACOs Can Help Independent Providers Improve their Performance and Simplify Reporting Under MIPS

Caravan Health presents, “MIPS Strategies for Physician/Hospital Track 1 ACOs”

Kansas City, MO – May 18, 2017 – Caravan Health encourages hospital CEOs and CFOs, who are making the transition to value-based payments, to fully understand the MIPS-ACO reporting requirements and the benefits and risks of adding independent physicians to their ACOs.

During an upcoming webinar, “MIPS Strategies for Physician/Hospital Track 1 ACOs,” Lynn Barr, CEO & Founder of Caravan Health, will walk participants through the ins and outs of MIPS reporting for Track 1 ACOs, outline the pros and cons of adding independent community clinicians to their ACO and describe strategies for creating successful Clinically Integrated Networks.

A panel of Caravan Health experts will join Ms. Barr, as they review reporting requirements and simplify MIPS components to ensure participants receive the highest reporting score possible, and understand the details behind a well-informed MIPS strategy.

According to a recent study by Black Book Research, 67% of small practices are considering joining an ACO to avoid penalties for generally lower scores due to a lack of infrastructure. Risk-free Track 1 ACO participation will generally increase MIPS scores by 20% and eliminate reporting and participation requirements from at least two categories, and exempt some providers from all MIPS reporting. Participating in risk-bearing ACOs completely eliminates MIPS participation, but are out of reach for most providers. In the meantime, participating in a risk-free Track 1 ACO can make the difference between getting an “A” and a “C” on Physician Compare, and enables physicians to qualify for the $500 million exceptional performance bonuses available through the 2021 performance year.

“Small practices are a vital part of the community health system,” said Barr. “If they join a competing ACO, they may be incentivized to steer patients to other settings. If they have poor scores on Physician Compare, patients may leave the community for care. Smart hospitals are engaging their community physicians in a Clinically Integrated Network, and using the Track 1 ACO framework to meet requirements and align providers.”

Caravan Health will offer two separate webinars – one for current ACO participants and one for 2018 ACO applicants and Practice Transformation Network participants. To join, please register for one of the following presentations:

  • Current ACO Participants
    Monday, June 5 at 12 p.m. PT/2 p.m. CT/3 p.m. ET
    Register Here

  • 2018 ACO Applicants and Practice Transformation Network Participants
    Tuesday, June 6 at 9 a.m. PT/11 a.m. CT/12 p.m. ET
    Register Here

To learn more about Caravan Health and our services, please visit www.CaravanHealth.com.

2017-05-18T21:16:50+00:00 May 18th, 2017|Accountable Care Organization, ACO, MACRA|