ACO Name and Location

Caravan Health ACO 20 LLC
dba Stratum Med ACO
7509 NW Tiffany Springs Parkway
Ste. 310
Kansas City, Missouri 64153


ACO Primary Contact

Primary Contact Name Riley Page
Primary Contact Phone Number 916-542-4717
Primary Contact Email Address

Organizational Information

ACO participants:
ACO Participants ACO Participant in Joint Venture (Enter Y or N)
Carle Health Care Incorporated Y
Hoopeston Community Memorial Hospital N
Richland Memorial Hospital N
Central Washington Health Services Association Y
Wenatchee Valley Hospital N
Hutchinson Clinic PA Inc Y
Christie Clinic, LLC Y
McFarland Clinic, PC Y
Hutchinson Physicians PA N
Jefferson City Medical Group, PC Y
JCMG Ancillary Services LLC N
JCMG Mental Health LLC N
The Iowa Clinic PC Y
JCMG Surgery Center, Inc.  N
Mankato Clinic, LTD. Y
Mankato Clinic Endoscopy Center, LLC N

ACO governing body:
Member Member’s Voting Power Membership Type ACO Participant TIN
Legal Business Name/DBA, if Applicable
Last Name First Name Title/Position
Vogelsang April Board Member  1 ACO Participant Representative Carle Hospital and Physician Group
Taylor Christi ACO Medical Director  1 ACO Participant Representative The Iowa Clinic, P.C.
Garrison, MD Mitchell Board Member   1
ACO Participant Representative  
Confluence Health
Heck  Mike Vice-Chairman 1
ACO Participant Representative  
Hutchinson Clinic 
Perry  Andrew Secretary 1
ACO Participant Representative  
McFarland Clinic 
Vallier  Ben Treasurer 1
ACO Participant Representative  
Jefferson City Medical Group
Kramer  Trent ACO Executive Director  1 ACO Participant Representative Stratum Med
Koger  Ben Board Member 1 ACO Participant Representative Stratum Med
Zielke David  Chairman 1 ACO Participant Representative The Iowa Clinic. P.C.
Bilger Kerry Board Member 1 ACO Participant Representative Christie Clinic 
Farrow Randy Board Member 1 ACO Participant Representative Mankato Clinic, Ltd.
Kolner Stuart Board Member 1 ACO Medicare Benediciary N/A
Key ACO clinical and administrative leadership:
Trent Kramer ACO Executive
Verlin Janzen Medical Director
Leeann Hastings Compliance Officer
Rayna Caplan Quality Assurance/Improvement Officer
Associated committees and committee leadership:
Committee Name Committee Leader Name and Position
Executive Committe David Zielke- Chairman
Steering Committee Trent Kramer-Executive Director 
Types of ACO participants, or combinations of participants, that formed the ACO:
  • Partnerships or joint venture arrangements between hospitals and ACO professionals
  • Hospital employing ACO professionals
  • Critical Access Hospital (CAH) billing under Method II

Shared Savings and Losses

Amount of Shared Savings/Losses
  • First Agreement Period
    • Performance Year 2019, $4,237,354.12
Shared Savings Distribution
  • First Agreement Period
    • Performance Year 2019
      • Proportion invested in infrastructure: 10%
      • Proportion invested in redesigned care processes/resources: 0%
      • Proportion of distribution to ACO participants: 90%

Quality Performance Results

2019 Quality Performance Results:
ACO# Measure Name Rate ACO Mean
ACO-1 CAHPS: Getting Timely Care, Appointments, and Information 80.83 85.86
ACO-2 CAHPS: How Well Your Providers Communicate 94.27 94.11
ACO-3 CAHPS: Patients’ Rating of Provider 92.01 92.69
ACO-4 CAHPS: Access to Specialists 79.62 81.54
ACO-5 CAHPS: Health Promotion and Education 57.86 60.44
ACO-6 CAHPS: Shared Decision Making 57.69 62.78
ACO-7 CAHPS: Health Status/Functional Status 75.16 73.79
ACO-34 CAHPS: Stewardship of Patient Resources 24.84 26.17
ACO-45 CAHPS: Corteous and Helpful Office Staff 93.50 92.84
ACO-46 CAHPS: Care Coordination  86.07 86.89
ACO-8 Risk Standardized, All Condition Readmission 13.43 14.86
ACO-38 All-Cause Unplanned Admissions for Patients with Multiple Chronic Conditions 59.28 58.15
ACO-43 Ambulatory Sensitive Condition Acute Composite (AHRQ Prevention Quality Indicator (PQI) #91) 1.68 1.87
ACO-13 Falls: Screening for Future Fall Risk 84.36 84.04
ACO-14 Preventive Care and Screening: Influenza Immunization 86.50 74.77
ACO-17 Preventive Care and Screening: Tobacco Use: Screening and Cessation Intervention 77.27 78.04
ACO-18 Preventive Care and Screening: Screening for Clinical Depression and Follow-up Plan 83.77 70.40
ACO-19 Colorectal Cancer Screening 78.29 70.76
ACO-20 Breast Cancer Screening 80.00 73.84
ACO-42 Statin Therapy for the Prevention and Treatment of Cardiovascular Disease 85.71 82.17
ACO-27 Diabetes Mellitus: Hemoglobin A1c Poor Control 9.32 13.88
ACO-28 Hypertension (HTN): Controlling High Blood Pressure 77.99 75.04

Payment Rule Waivers

  • No, our ACO does not use the SNF 3-Day Rule Waiver.
COVID attention

Early bird registration is now open for the 2020 Virtual Accountable Care Symposium.

ACO insights delivered right to you

Thank you

Sign up for our newsletter of data-driven news and stories from the latest in ACOs, value-based care, and population health.

  • Real-time insight into alternative payment model trends
  • Strategies and practices that drive results
  • Leadership lessons from health care and beyond
  • Perspectives on the changing health care landscape

By sharing your email you agree to our Privacy Policy

newsletter signup